Sign In Forgot Password

Open Doors 2024

In their nearly 40 years with Temple Sinai, Frank and Carolyn Schwarz have exemplified the Jewish values of chesed, da’at, binah—lovingkindness, knowledge, and understanding. They have affirmed these values through countless hours of study, prayer, leadership 
and service. 

Lovingkindness fosters empathy, solidarity, and a sense of belonging. Frank and Carolyn have opened their hearts and home to countless visitors to Sinai and Pittsburgh, and have volunteered for numerous social action activities. By honoring those who exemplify lovingkindness, we acknowledge their capacity to uplift others, alleviate suffering, and cultivate harmony. 

Frank and Carolyn have deepened their knowledge of Judaism through participation in Jewish educational activities in Pittsburgh, nationally at the URJ, and internationally at the Hartman Institute in Israel, underscoring the intrinsic value of learning and intellectual growth. By recognizing the achievements of knowledgeable individuals, we affirm the importance of education as a catalyst for personal development and societal advancement.

Understanding is the ability to empathize and comprehend the perspectives of others, to bridge divides, resolve conflicts, and foster genuine connections with people from diverse backgrounds. Frank and Carolyn have demonstrated a commitment to understanding through their leadership, fostering inclusive communities where differences are celebrated and cooperation thrives. 

In celebrating the Jewish values of lovingkindness, knowledge, and understanding, we also honor the enduring legacy of remarkable people whose lives are dedicated to these pursuits. Frank and Carolyn Schwarz have inspired us to connect more deeply and meaningfully with our Jewish traditions and values. 

We sincerely hope you will join us in honoring them at this year’s Open Doors Award celebration.

~ Event Co-chairs 
    George & Laura Arnold 
    Larry & Barbara Shuman

Make your donation today!

THANK YOU to everyone who has already generously donated* to Temple Sinai’s annual fundraising event, Open Doors 2024 Honoring Frank and Carolyn Schwarz! Make your donation today!

Mt. Sinai
Laura & George Arnold 

Mt. Meron
Eva Blum & Norman Wolmark
Cindy & Mark Goodman
Marcy & Jared Kaufman
Linda & Stu Miller

Mt. Harif
The Discretionary Fund of Rabbi Daniel Fellman
Barbara & Rabbi Jamie Gibson
Jan & Ed Korenman
Lynn Magid Lazar & Dale Lazar
Carol & Rick Rosenthal
Barbara & Larry Shuman 

Mt. Gerizim
Ellie & Robert Bernstein
Jan Fink
Ellen & Robert Katzen
Louise & Michael Malakoff
Marcy Morton
Rita & David Pollock
Selma P. Ryave
Matt Schwarz, Tim Schwarz, Jennifer Knight, Owen Schwarz, & Charlotte Schwarz
Harton Wolf
Women of Temple Sinai

Mt. Tabor
Arleen Adelson

Davidene Alpart
Sharon Back & William Padnos
Jan & Drew Barkley
Marcia & Philip Baumfeld
Mark Beck

Aya Betensky & Robert Kraut
Jennifer Bett
Stephanie & Jacob Birnberg
Gloria Bodek
Arlene & William Brandeis
Betty Ann & Steven Bucksbaum
Monica Cellio
Florence & Toby Chapman
Susan & William Cohen
Elizabeth, Michael, Rachel, & Adam Collura
Janice & Marvin Dash
Hallie & Joshua Donner
Rhoda Dorfzaun
Nancy Dubuar & Richard Rubin
Carol Ellstein
Morgan & James Faeder
In loving memory of Shirley Goldstein z"l
Diana Goodman & Jacob Schiller
Anita Gordon
Darcy Hunter Gordon & Michael Gordon
Elizabeth & Jerold Gordon
Byron Gottfried
Lester Hadburg
Ann & David Hirsch

Adora & Steve Holstein
Paula Jane Ingram
Hadley, Madison, & Rick Kalson
Mara & Richard Kaplan & Family
Amy Kellman
Eileen Kraus-Dobratz
Judy & Charles Kreiger
Susan & Eric Kruman
Vivian & Alan Lawsky
Lisa & Josh Lederer
Jill Fain Lehman & Philip Lehman
Gerrie Littmann
Jane & Michael Louik
Beverly & Jason Manne
Brianna McDonough & Derek Atkinson 
Jane & Michael Mendlow
Elaine & Todd Miller
Karen & Charles Moellenberg, Jr.
Ann Molloy
Laurie Moser & Stewart Barmen
Laurie Mulvey
Lynn Naman
Elinor Nathanson & Peter Kogan
Esther Nathanson
In loving memory of Elliott Oshry z"l
Rabbi Sara Perman
Ruth Reidbord
The Discretionary Fund of Cantor Reinwald
Rodef Shalom Congregation
Ann Bass Roth & Richard Roth
Lynn Rubenson
Pamela & Joshua Rubin
Louisa & James Rudolph
Andrea & Brian Ruttenberg
Judith Patz Sadowsky & Stewart Sadowsky
Denise & John Schiller
Mary Ann & Ted Schwarz
Barbara & Edwin Siegel
Rebecca Siegel & Arthur Pitt
Myrna & Lee Silverman
Lori Sisson & Jay Silberblatt
Marcie Solomon & Nathan Goldblatt
Joan Stein
Carol & David Steinbach
Natalie Sumetsky
Mallary Swartz & Jonathan Berkowitz
Sally Schweitzer
Tamar & Ernest Tolentino
Jeanette Trauth & Stephen Jurman

Kellee Van Aken & Saul Straussman
Phyllis & Joe Weinkle
Margaret & Frederick Whelan
Carol & John Woolford
Eileen Yacknin & Kipp Dawson
Alison & Mark Yazer
Myrna & Allan Zelenitz
Ronnie Cook Zuhlke & Frederick Zuhlke

*As of 6/13/24

Make your donation today!

Tue, June 25 2024 19 Sivan 5784