Sign In Forgot Password

Hartman Learning: TOGETHER & APART: The Future of Jewish Peoplehood (via Zoom)

Upcoming Sessions

1. Sunday, November 1, 2020 14 Cheshvan 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

2. Sunday, November 15, 2020 28 Cheshvan 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

3. Sunday, December 6, 2020 20 Kislev 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

4. Sunday, December 20, 2020 5 Tevet 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

5. Sunday, January 10, 2021 26 Tevet 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

6. Sunday, January 24, 2021 11 Sh'vat 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

7. Sunday, February 21, 2021 9 Adar 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

8. Sunday, March 7, 2021 23 Adar 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

9. Sunday, March 21, 2021 8 Nisan 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

10. Sunday, April 11, 2021 29 Nisan 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

11. Sunday, April 25, 2021 13 Iyar 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

12. Sunday, May 2, 2021 20 Iyar 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

13. Sunday, May 23, 2021 12 Sivan 5781

9:15 AM - 10:30 AM
Past Sessions
Sunday, October 18, 2020 30 Tishrei 5781 - 9:15 AM - 10:30 AM

Please join us for The Shalom Hartman Institute’s iEngage Video Lecture Series. Each Sunday program features a video lecture, study of sacred text, and conversation with members of Temple Sinai.

TOGETHER & APART: The Future of Jewish Peoplehood explores one of the most pressing issues facing the Jewish world today — how we move from being a people with no permanent home to one with two permanent homes.

This series addresses the features of Jewish peoplehood inherent in our tradition and in our history. Who are we? What does it mean to be a member of the Jewish people? And what are some of the fundamental values that this encompasses?

The course examines the contemporary forces challenging peoplehood, including nationalism, antisemitism, dual-loyalty, and identity politics, and imagines new conceptual frameworks that can help sustain and grow the story of our people for a new millennium.

Cost: There is no charge for the course! The Shalom Hartman Institute is offering the course for free to support the community during the pandemic. 

Materials: Please contact Nancy Conway at Nancy@TempleSinaiPGH.org to receive a copy of the source book.

Sundays 9:15-10:30
October 18, November 1, November 15, December 6, December 20, January 10, January 24, February 21. March 7, March 21, April 11, April 25, May 2, May 23

If you have any questions, contact Rabbi Darryl Crystal at RabbiCrystal@TempleSinaiPGH.org or (412) 421-9715. 

The Shalom Hartman Institute is located in Jerusalem. It is a leading center of Jewish thought and education, serving Israel and North America. Our mission is to strengthen Jewish peoplehood, identity, and pluralism; to enhance the Jewish and democratic character of Israel; and to ensure that Judaism is a compelling force for good in the 21st century.

Register

Login

or

Enter Your details

* Name
Address
* Email
* Phone
Notes
Total $
 
Share Print Save To My Calendar
Mon, October 26 2020 8 Cheshvan 5781